WPL Schedule 2024 Announced: Brace Yourself For Thrilling Action

WPL Schedule 2024 Announced: Brace Yourself For Thrilling Action

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the much-awaited WPL Schedule for the upcoming Women’s Premier League 2024.

After the huge success of the first edition of WPL, the excitement for the second season has already reached new heights. Teams are training harder, players are eager to perform, and fans can’t wait for the thrilling contests to begin. Certainly, we can expect this to draw people‚Äôs attention towards women’s cricket, deserving the same recognition as the Ipl .¬†

Start Date of Women’s Premier League 2024¬†

The second season of the women’s T20 league will start on February 23 and conclude on March 17, 2024. The teams will be playing a total number of 22 matches as per the WPL schedule for 2024. With 20 league matches and 2 knockouts, WPL is all set to bring some thrilling cricketing action for the fans.  

Five teams РDelhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Gujarat, and UP will compete twice against each other in the round-robin format. The team ranked first at the end of this stage will go directly to the final. However,  the teams ranked second and third will face each other in the eliminator, and the winner will play for the title in the finals. 

As per the WPL schedule 2024, defending champions Mumbai Indians will compete against Delhi Capitals in the inaugural clash of WPL 2024  at the iconic M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Following this, Royal Challengers Bangalore and  UP Warriorz will compete against each other in the second tournament match on February 24.  

WPL 2024: Venues 

Delhi and Bangalore will host all the matches of the Women’s Premier League 2024. Meanwhile, teams will play the first 11 league matches at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bangalore), whereas the remaining 11 matches, including the playoffs, will be played at Arun Jaitley Stadium (New Delhi). However, the Delhi leg will begin on March 5, with the first match between Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians.¬†

WPL Schedule 2024 

As per WPL schedule prepared by BCCI. Here is the complete list of all the matches that are to be played in the Women’s Premier League 2024.¬†

Sr.No Match  Date and Time Venue 
Match 1 Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals 23 Feb, 7:30 PM  Bangalore
Match 2 Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs UP Warriorz 24 Feb, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 3 Gujrat Giants Vs Mumbai Indians  25 Feb, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 4 UP Warriorz Vs Delhi Capitals 26 Feb, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 5 Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Gujrat Giants  27 Feb, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 6 Mumbai Indians Vs UP Warriorz  28 Feb, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 7 Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs UP Warriorz 29 Feb, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 8 UP Warriorz Vs Gujrat Giants  1 Mar, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 9 Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Mumbai Indians  2 Mar, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 10 Gujarat Giants Vs Delhi Capitals  3 Mar, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 11 UP Warriorz Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore  4 Mar, 7:30 PM Bangalore
Match 12 Delhi Capitals Vs Mumbai Indians  5  Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 13  Gujrat Giants Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore  6 Mar 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 14  UP Warriorz Vs Mumbai Indians  7 Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 15  Delhi Capitals Vs UP Warriorz 8 Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 16 Mumbai Indians Vs Gujrat Giants  9 Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 17 Delhi Capitals Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore  10 Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 18 Gujrat Giants Vs UP Warriorz  11 Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 19 Mumbai Indians Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore  12 Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 20 Delhi Capitals Vs Gujrat Giants  13 Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 21 Eliminator  15Mar, 7:30 PM Delhi 
Match 22 FINAL 17 Mar,  7:30 PM Delhi 

Women’s Premier League 2024 Squads 

Before the announcement of the WPL schedule, franchises made a few changes in their squads. During the 2024 auction, a total of 30 players were sold, out of which 9 were overseas players. Likewise, Kathryn Bryce from Scotland was the only associate player bought.

Here are the five highest-paid players and their respective teams and prices:

  • Annabel Sutherland – Sold to Delhi for ‚āĻ2 Crore.
  • Kashvee Gautam – Sold to Gujarat for ‚āĻ2 Crore.
  • Vrinda Dinesh – Sold to Uttar Pradesh (UP) for ‚āĻ1.3 Crore.
  • Shabnim Ismail – Sold to Mumbai for ‚āĻ1.2 Crore.
  • Phoebe Litchfield – Sold to Gujarat for ‚āĻ1.1 Crore.

Royal Challengers Bangalore 

Player Name  Nationality
Smriti Mandhana (C) IND
Ellyse Perry AUS
Asha Shobna IND
Disha Kasat IND
Nadine de Klerk SA
Indrani Roy IND
Kanika Ahuja IND
Renuka Singh IND
Richa Ghosh IND
Shreyanka Patil IND
Sophie Devine NZ
Ekta Bisht IND
Georgia Wareham AUS
Sabbhineni Meghana IND
Kate Cross ENG
Simran Bahadur IND
Sophie Molineux AUS
Shubha Satheesh IND

Delhi Capitals:

Player Name  Nationality 
Meg Lanning (C ) AUS
Arundhati Reddy IND
Jemimah Rodrigues IND
Jess Jonassen AUS
Minnu Mani IND
Poonam Yadav IND
Laura Harris  AUS
Radha Yadav IND
Shafali Verma IND
Shikha Pandey  IND
Alice Capsey IND
Sneha Deepthi IND
Taniya Bhatia IND
Titas Sadhu IND
Marizanne Kapp SA
Annabel Sutherland SA
Aparna Mondal IND

Gujarat Giants

Player Name  Nationality 
Beth Mooney (C) AUS
Ashleigh Gardner AUS
Dayalan Hemalatha IND
Laura Wolvaardt (SA) SA
Shabnam Shakil IND
Harleen Deol IND
Sneh Rana IND
Tanuja Kanwer IND
Kashvee Gautam IND
Phoebe Litchfield  AUS
Meghna Singh IND
Lea Tahuhu  NZ
Veda Krishnamurthy IND
Tarannum Pathan IND
Priya Mishra IND
Trisha Poojitha IND
Kathryn Bryce  SCO
Mannat Kashyap IND

Mumbai Indians:

Player Name  Nationality 
Harmanpreet Kaur (C)  IND
Amanjot Kaur IND
Amelia Kerr  NZ
Hayley Matthews  WI
Humairaa Kaazi IND
Isabelle Wong  ENG
Jintimani Kalita,  IND
Natalie Sciver  ENG
Pooja Vastrakar IND
Priyanka Bala IND
Saika Ishaque IND
Yastika Bhatia IND
Chloe Tryon SA
Shabnim Ismail IND
Sajeevan Sajana IND
Amandeep Kaur IND
Fatima Jaffar IND
Keerthana Balakrishnan IND

UP Warriorz:

Alyssa Healy (C)  IND
Anjali Sarvani IND
Deepti Sharma IND
Grace Harris AUS
Kiran Navgire IND
Laxmi Yadav IND
Parshavi Chopra IND
Tahlia Mcgrath  AUS
Rajeshwari Gayakwad IND
Soppadhandi Yashasri IND
Shweta Sehrawat IND
Sophie Ecclestone  ENG
Vrinda Dinesh IND
Danni Wyatt  ENG
Gouher Sultana IND
Poonam Khemnar IND
Saima Thakor IND
Chamari Athapaththu  SL


One thing is clear after looking at the WPL schedule, the tournament is going to be fiercely competitive. The intensity will only escalate as the tournament progresses, making it a must-watch event for cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *