Super Ballon d’Or: Prestigious Football Award

Super Ballon d’Or: Prestigious Football Award

If you are a football fan, you must have heard of the Super Ballon d’Or award. To appreciate the playing spirit of players, a famous French football magazine, France Football come up with an award with the title of Super Ballon d’Or to honor the best football player of the last three decades. 

Many famous footballers, such as Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, have won the Ballon d’Or award many times. However, the Super Ballon d’Or award is even more prestigious and has only one name throughout the century. Who’s he? Stay tuned to the blog to find out.

Let’s explore the history of the Super Ballon d’Or and which player has named the awards in the past.

History of Super Ballon d’Or 

Turning the page of history, France Football introduced an award for the finest player of three decades. It was only awarded once, till now, in 1989, Real Madrid’s Alfredo Di Stefano created history by winning this Super Ballon d’Or award. Johan held the second position, and Michel Platini accounted for the third position. Meanwhile, in 1956, the Ballon d’Or award was first won by Blackpool’s Stanley Matthews.

In that era, only European players were awarded Ballon d’Or, but Stefano has Spanish citizenship, making him eligible for the extended award of Super Ballon d’Or. Later on, the rule gets amended to invite every player for the title. In the voting panel, you will find three sections: the France Footballer readers poll, a group of past Ballon d’Or winners, and the France Football jury. They make the final decision on which player deserves the title for excellent playing performance. 

Which Player Got Super Ballon d’Or?

Alfredo Di Stefano, the classic footballer of the era, won the title. He scored over 308 goals while appearing in 396 matches for Real Madrid. His list of achievements is quite impressive: He won two Ballon d’Or titles in 1957 and 1959, One Intercontinental Cup, eight La Liga titles, one Copa de Espana, two Copa Latinas, five consecutive European cups, and other trophies. 

What Makes It Prestigious?

Unlike other football awards, the Super Ballon d’Or is regarded as exceptional due to its rare occurrence. There is no annual ceremony; it targets the decade to select one prestigious player. It was never intended to be held as an ordinarily extended award; the Super Ballon d’Or was meant to create influential curiosity among the footballer’s fraternity. So, once the player reaches the level of getting this award, they find it more noble and matter or proud. The legacy created by Alfredo Di Stefano is yet to be forwarded to another player. 

Details of Super Ballon d’Or Trophy

Talking about the Super Ballon d’Or trophy, it is almost double the size of Ballon d’Or. The shinny golden texture of the football replica on the top is wrapped by red crystal, making it more appealing. An inscription on the base states “The Best Player of All Time.” For any footballer, holding the award would be a matter of immense pride and a life-changing event. 

When Alfredo Di Stefano received this trophy in 1989, it was displayed at Santiago Bernabéu Stadium inside the Real Madrid Museum. But in 2021, his memorial items and the Super Ballon d’Or trophy were held for Julien’s Auction by his family in London. During the auction event, the Super Ballon d’Or trophy was sold as the most expensive item for a whopping £187,500. 

When Will The Next Super Ballon d’Or be Given? 

The suspense prevails on when the next Super Ballon d’Or will be given and which player is on the hit list. There is no official announcement, but as per sources, it might be organized in 2029 to honour players with the finest performance in past decades. There is no formal notice or comment marked by France Football to hint at the year. 

Lionel Messi is the expected player with a high chance of attracting this award. There is no evidence of him winning the title, but Messi has massive achievements and quite an impressive performance chart to top the Footballer list. Messi has made over 800 goals in his best sports career and received 40 trophies. He has won the Ballon d’Or 7 times, FIFA World Player of the Year 6 times, and UEFA Men’s Player of the Year three times. 

However, other names on the list include Cristiano Ronaldo, Erling Haaland, and Aitana Bonmati. 

Final Take on Super Ballon d’Or

Football is a sport of spirit and thrill that excites worldwide fans. The prestige of the Super Ballon d’Or has led the entire community and made Alfredo Di Stefano a lifetime inspiration for young talents. It would be interesting to see who the next player will be to win the title. 

You can follow SportsnScoop for more football updates & insights!


Alfredo Di Stefano, an Argentina-based player, won the Super Ballon d’Or award in 1989. He was the only player in the entire football community who got this title. 

France Football is the creator of a prestigious award to honour the top player with the Super Ballon d’Or. 

The voting panel is composed of past Ballon d’Or players and the France Football team, who select the player to review his or her overall performance for the past three decades or thirty years. 

Based on his records, Lionel Messi is highly predicted to receive this award. However, it has not officially been announced by organizers. 


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *