Mumbai Wins Ranji Trophy Title For The 42nd Time

Mumbai Wins Ranji Trophy Title For The 42nd Time

Mumbai clinched their 42nd Ranji Trophy title after securing a 169-run win against Vidarbha in the final of Ranji Trophy season 2023-24.  known as the heavyweights of domestic cricket, Mumbai ended their 8-year drought by beating Vidarbha in the Ranji Trophy finals at Wankhade Stadium. Chasing a total of 538 runs, Vidharba were restricted to 368 runs as Mumbai secured an easy win of 169 runs, with young Musheer Khan scoring a hundred to ensure his team reached a strong total.

Chasing down the mammoth total of 538 runs, Vidarbha resumed their innings on day five with 248 for 5. Despite the efforts of the Vidarbha captain, Akshay Wadkar, who scored an exceptional hundred, his team couldn’t reach the target and were bowled out at 368 runs.

This was Mumbai’s 13th Ranji Trophy Final at Wankhade Stadium, out of which they won the trophy 11 times. Only on two occasions did Mumbai finish as the runner-up. The first final they lost at this venue was in the 1982-83 Ranji season against their arch-rivals Karnataka. With this win, Mumbai ended their 8-year drought, as this is their first title win after the 2015-16 season. 

Main Highlights of the Final 

  • Mumbai won the Ranji Trophy final for the 42nd time in the history of Ranji Trophy 
  • A crucial half-century from Shardul Thakur, 75 runs of 69 balls
  • A Captain’s innings from Anjikya Rehane, 73 runs of 143 balls
  • Musheer Khan scores a hundred in the second innings, 136 runs of 326 balls 
  • Shreyas Iyer plays dominating innings, 95 runs of 111 balls
  • Shams Mulani takes 4 wickets and scores an unbeaten 50 runs of 85 balls 
  • Karun Nair scores a solid 74 runs off 220 balls in the fourth innings 
  • Captain’s Knock from Akshay Wadkar scored 102 runs off 199 balls in the fourth innings. 

Full List of Ranji Trophy Winners 

Ranji Trophy Season Winner Runner-up
1934-35 Bombay Northern India
1935-36 Bombay Madras
1936-37 Nawanagar Bengal
1937-38 Hyderabad Nawanagar
1938-39 Bengal Southern Punjab
1939-40 Maharastra United Provinces
1940-41 Maharastra Madras
1941-42 Bombay Mysore
1942-43 Baroda Hyderabad
1943-44 Western India Bengal
1944-45 Bombay Holkar
1945-46 Holkar Baroda
1946-47 Baroda Holkar
1947-48 Holkar Bombay
1948-49 Bombay Baroda
1949-50 Baroda Holkar
1950-51 Holkar Gujrat
1951-52 Bombay Holkar
1952-53 Holkar Bengal
1953-54 Bombay Holkar
1954-55 Madras Holkar
1955-56 Bombay Bengal
1956-57 Bombay Services
1957-58 Baroda Services
1958-59 Bombay Bengal
1959-60 Bombay Mysore
1960-61 Bombay Rajasthan
1961-62 Bombay Rajasthan
1962-63 Bombay Rajasthan
1963-64 Bombay Rajasthan
1964-65 Bombay Hyderabad
1965-66 Bombay Rajasthan
1966-67 Bombay Rajasthan
1967-68 Bombay Madras
1968-69 Bombay Bengal
1969-70 Bombay Rajasthan
1970-71 Bombay Maharastra
1971-72 Bombay Bengal
1972-73 Bombay Tamil Nadu
1973-74 Karnataka Rajasthan
1974-75 Bombay Karnataka
1975-76 Bombay Bihar
1976-77 Bombay Delhi
1977-78 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1978-79 Delhi Karnataka
1979-80 Delhi Bombay
1980-81 Bombay Delhi
1981-82 Delhi Karnataka
1982-83 Karnataka Bombay
1983-84 Bombay Delhi
1984-85 Bombay Delhi
1985-86 Delhi Haryana
1986-87 Hyderabad Delhi
1987-88 Tamil Nadu Railways
1988-89 Delhi Bengal
1989-90 Bengal Delhi
1990-91 Haryana Bombay
1991-92 Delhi Tamil Nadu
1992-93 Punjab Maharastra
1993-94 Bombay Bengal
1994-95 Bombay Punjab
1995-96 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
1996-97 Mumbai Delhi
1997-98 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1998-99 Karnataka Madhya Pradesh
1999-00 Mumbai Hyderabad
2000-01 Baroda Railways
2001-02 Railways Baroda
2002-03 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2003-04 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2004-05 Railways Punjab
2005-06 Uttar Pradesh Bengal
2006-07 Mumbai Bengal
2007-08 Delhi Uttar Pradesh
2008-09 Mumbai Uttar Pradesh
2009-10 Mumbai Karnataka
2010-11 Rajasthan Baroda
2011-12 Rajasthan Tamil Nadu
2012-13 Mumbai Saurashtra
2013-14 Karnataka Maharastra
2014-15 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
2015-16 Mumbai Saurashtra
2016-17 Gujrat Mumbai
2017-18 Vidarbha Delhi
2018-19 Vidharba Saurashtra
2019-20 Saurashtra Bengal
2021-22 Madhya Pradesh Mumbai
2022-23 Saurashtra Bengal
2023-24 Mumbai Vidharba


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *